//
you're reading...
Society

Berlin goes art – MY BELGRADE

 Artist – Boris Kralj

Boris Kralj, graduated in photography at Lette-Verein in Berlin is one of the most creative heads I know and it’s definitely worth getting to know him and especially his work!

Mr. Kralj focuses not only on high fashion and portraits but also on incredible realization of ART AND REPORTAGE through photography and visual concepts.

In this context I would like to present you his latest work “MY BELGRADE” on which he recently released a printed version of his upcoming exhibition.

Boris Kralj is of Yugoslavian origin. Thus, he decided to go back to his roots and deal with the history of his country, Serbia. Nearly twenty years after the begin of the Yugoslavian Civil War he manages to catch the remaining fragments of the former idealogical Yugoslavian capital of Serbia, Belgrade.

Mr. Kralj perfectly succeeded in catching the city’s spirit over eight years of taking photographs. He not only documented the variety of Serbian people but also it’s architecture and invisible details that hint on the country’s history.

As I have already seen many of his photographies I can only recommend strongly to get to know his work! It is simply great!

The Exhibition: MY BELGRADE

The vernissage takes place on the 8th December 2011, 7 PM at Galerie Kollaborativ in Berlin.

9.12. – 28.12.2011, 2-6PM.

Belgrade

Belgrade which means The White City in Serbian has never been regarded as the Paris of Eastern Europe although it used to be a prospering centre of many ethnicities and a wide diversity of culture and history.It has been destroyed during times of war and forgotten by the rest of the world. Belgrade often breeds the connotation of the unknown where war and violence occurred, where abhorrence, reluctance and poverty exists. This is partly, what Boris Kralj emphasizes in his work. All his photos show reality and encourage people to think about what they see in the pictures. From my point of view Kralj has a very good eye on details, coloring and perspectives. All those professional qualities give his work an authentic characteristic.

I believe that for all of those who are interested in the Yugoslavian history or photography should feel encouraged to visit his exhibition!

 

MY BELGRADE

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Berlin goes art – MY BELGRADE

  1. great post! I´ve never been to belgrade and though the pictures look exactly as I would picture an eastern europe city, I got admit they somehow have flair. Especially, when I think of why kralj made those pictures. when I find the time, I think I will take a look at the exhibition!
    How did you come across that artist?

    Posted by anne | December 7, 2011, 1:46 pm
  2. Hey Victoria! I really like your choice of images and your style of writing! I have to admit though, that while reading, I was wondering in how far your post relates to the “whole picture” of your blog. And I also wondered, like Anne, how you met this guy and what made you write a post about him. 🙂

    Posted by ingaz | December 8, 2011, 5:49 pm
    • Hi everybody!

      First of all I would like to apologize that I did not answer earlier.

      Thank you very much for your comments and I am surprised that some of you indeed found interest in his art.
      I worked with B. Kralj for some years but I just recently got to know the art he creats and I must admit that I instantly fell in love with his photographies… And I felt like sharing it with all of you. Additionally, I believe that we unfortunately do not learn enough about what happens in Serbia at the moment…or in its past. So I guess it was maybe a tiny step to broaden our horizons even more towards eastern europe.

      Posted by vikiii | January 25, 2012, 12:14 pm
  3. Thank you for this great post!!!

    Posted by Phillip | January 12, 2012, 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

